A Different Way With Mince

10 Aug

Cooking day has come around again for me and I don’t feel like spag bol but I have mince ready to cook. So, I pulled out my recipes to see what I could find.

While I don’t have all the ingredients, I did find one I can easily change to use ingredients I do have. This is what is great about cooking. Experimenting with what is in the pantry. The children may have suggestions, or you may be able to draw on some experience.

So, I have chosen a dish that includes pasta. It is simple and cooked on the stove top. 500g mince (5 serves), 2 onions chopped, 2 rashers bacon (don’t have, replace with bacon stock or finely chopped ham) can tomato soup (don’t have, replace with crushed tomato), 1 1/2 cups water (substitute 1/2 cup for red wine if you like), 1 beef stock cube, 1/2 tsp mixed herbs, seasoning, 1 cup macaroni.

In large pot cook onion and bacon, add mince and brown. Pour off excess fat. Add tomato, water, stock, herbs and seasoning. Cook covered 20-30 mins.

I use a Tupperware pasta cooker to cook macaroni, drain and add to pan, stir through.

Enjoy with some steamed broccoli or beans for colour.

This is an easy recipe to change. If you think you have one that could be changed but not sure, send it to me and I will give it a go.

Leave a Reply

