Cooking on a Budget

13 Jun

It is a delight to be able to cook. I live alone so cooking for myself is more a chore than a delight but at least I can do it. Because I did shift work for many years I needed to take meals to work so I have developed a system for myself.

When I cook, I don’t cook for one, I cook for, well five usually. Because most recipes call for 500g of the main ingredient and really we should only eat about 100g of meat per serve, I split this up into five meals, putting them in the freezer in Tupperware heat n eats. Then each evening they’re out and into the microwave. This also saves power.

I have now added bulk buying to my regime, I buy bulk packs of meat which are usually the ones on special and can have four weeks of meat for under $30. This helps fill the freezer which then runs more efficiently too. When I add fresh vegetables to this for about $5 per week I am eating well for less than $2 a day. Of course that is the evening meal.

Lunch costs me about $1.10 per day. This is of course when I eat at home but as you can see, eating fresh is really affordable. It is when you add in things like pasta, rice, cream, cheese, special sauces etc that it gets expensive. Of course I am not eating such things because of my cholesterol level.

Now I love to eat out as much as anyone but if I have my home made meals 5-6 days each week then I can afford to eat out once or twice.

So give it a try and let me know if you can do it too.

2 Responses to “Cooking on a Budget”

  1. trkingmomoe June 13, 2012 at 6:21 am #

    Please share some of you recipes and tips for cooking for one.

Leave a Reply

