Organ Donation

12 Jun

What does one do when family experiences a life changing event? How does one react? These have been going around in my head recently.

A friend of mine has had such an event, her brother received a kidney transplant. For her it was out of left field. She didn’t even realise he was on the list, though if she thought about it would have realised he probably was but last she talked to him about it he wasn’t even sure he wanted one. He had been on dialysis for 15 months but was worried about the side affects of the anti rejection drugs.

Now, as we talk about it she is starting to wonder if he was saying such things so the family wasn’t waiting for the kidney too. He would not want it to take over everyone’s lives nor cloud interactions with him.

She also feels a little guilt. Another brother had been tested to see if he was compatible as a live donor. She did not want to do that, did not want to go through that surgery. She knows it is worse for the donor than the recipient and is like me in that she thinks of herself first. It is one of the reasons we are friends I guess, we are both a bit selfish and understand it in the other

I don’t know what it would take for me to go for live kidney donation. I would dread any one suggesting that I do. How would I respond to such a question? Would I say,”I have consumed so much alcohol in my life that mine is probably damaged too”. I know they are not as I recently had a health check.

I am on the organ donor registry. They can have whatever they can use when I am gone. I am going to be cremated anyway and we don’t go in for open caskets here either. I like to think of some part of me making a difference in others lives, heaven knows that is not happening now but I want to use my organs while I am here.

So, my friend and I will learn to live with the guilt of what we will not do and relief that she didn’t need to after all.

3 Responses to “Organ Donation”

  1. WWW July 3, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your website on my iphone during lunch break. I love the information you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m shocked at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, good site!

  2. Good Page July 5, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    Greetings from Colorado! I’m bored at work so I decided to check out your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the knowledge you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, amazing site!

  3. Get Rid of Acne July 9, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    Thank You For This Post, was added to my bookmarks.

Leave a Reply

